After Further Review: Jets-Texans

By popular demand, we're again going to have a post after each game that breaks down some of the controversial decisions from the officiating crew in the game.

Penalty Count

Texans 4-35 (leading to one Jets first down)
Jets 8-52 (leading to two Texans first downs)

Note: This does not include penalties that are declined or off-set.

Plays where the call was obvious, uncontroversial or not visible on broadcast footage

Jets Penalties

  • Deliberate delay of game before a punt. Houston declined this anyway, figuring that the extra room would only help Thomas Morstead. They were right because he put his punt in the end zone for a touchback.
  • Joe Tippmann illegal man downfield on a screen pass. The timing was off here as Zach Wilson's release was delayed so Tippmann took off downfield thinking the pass would already have been thrown.
  • Samuel Eguavoen false start on a punt. Perhaps Houston should have declined this one too because Morstead put it inside the five where it was muffed.
  • Garrett Wilson false start. Reacted to a DB biting on the hard count.
  • Chris Glaser false start. Was in at center at the time and rocked back before snapping the ball. This came right after Robert Saleh had burned a timeout to prevent a five-yard penalty for delay of game.
  • Allen Lazard holding. Trying to prevent his man from getting to the outside on a wide run and changed his hand position so he was reaching across his chest.
  • Solomon Thomas encroachment. Tried to time up the snap count and was in the neutral zone before the ball was snapped.

Texans Penalties

  • Offensive pass interference on Xavier Hutchinson. Clear extension as he pushed off on DJ Reed at the top of his route stem.
  • Shaq Mason false start. Flinched early.
  • Roughing the passer on Will Anderson. This was presumably called because it was so late - Anderson had time to take another two steps and could have slowed up but instead levelled Wilson with a hard hit in the back. While he didn't lead with his helmet and forcible contact was not made to the head or neck area, he did land with his full body weight on Wilson, which could also have been called even if the hit wasn't deemed to be late.

Penalties warranting further discussion or explanation

Jets Penalties

  • Mekhi Becton holding penalty. Becton lost outside leverage because he collided with Tyler Conklin as he dropped back into his stance. Becton is long enough that he can extend his arms and shove the pass rusher to force them wider in a situation like this without holding and that's what he did, but the official flagged the hold - almost as if they were anticipating him doing that, even though he didn't.
  • Sauce Gardner illegal contact on 3rd-and-20. An awful call because the receiver pushed off down the field rather than any contact from Gardner slowing him up.
  • Illegal formation on a punt. The Jets lined up an A-gap blitz with Jamien Sherwood and Eguavoen to try and get a block but if you're within a yard of the line of scrimmage you have to be completely outside the long snapper's shoulder pads. It wasn't clear from the broadcast who, if anyone, broke this rule.
  • Tony Adams pass interference in the end zone and Quinnen Williams roughing the passer on the same play. Adams made early contact without turning his head so that was a good call and that's the one they'd have accepted anyway to get the ball spotted at the one-yard line rather than half-the-distance so that makes the Williams penalty moot. However, this penalty came as Williams barely shoved CJ Stroud and looked a bit like a flop. It was way late though - three steps after the ball had gone - and Williams is obviously so big and strong that maybe what looks like a soft shove from him could have that effect. Would the Jets get that call though? No.

Texans Penalties

  • Michael Deiter holding on Quinnen Williams. Williams was too quick for Deiter at the snap and gained an immediate upfield leverage advantage so Deiter had to adjust his hand position to the outside of Williams' shoulder to prevent the sack. This would have been a safety if the hold took place in the end zone but it was on the three-yard line.

Notable no-calls etc

Here were some of the other notable missed calls, replay situations and controversial moments:

  • Garrett Wilson's sideline non-catch was upheld on review. It did look like his foot was off the ground before he had control and may have touched the white anyway. This certainly wasn't clear enough to overturn and might even have been reversed to incomplete if called a catch on the field.
  • Robert Woods' sideline catch was ruled incomplete and never challenged. On this one it was very close, but clear his toe was on the white at the sideline.
  • Wilson also had a short catch where the ball was knocked away from him ruled as an incompletion. If it had been a fumble, he did recover the ball, but the replay seemed to show he didn't really have time to make a football move before it was jarred loose.
  • Stroud had a pass that went sideways and rolled out of bounds. This was correctly called as a lateral and the ball spotted where it went out. This goes down as a sack for the Jets, but credited to "team" even though Thomas hit Stroud as he released the throw.
  • Randall Cobb was open for the first touchdown because Denzel Perryman was caught up on a rub route by Kenny Yeboah. This was legit though, as Yeboah was running a downfield route and didn't slow down or change his angle to initiate the contact.
  • Stroud was injured on a Quinnen Williams hit as his head hit the turf hard. The hit itself didn't seem to meet any of the criteria to be illegal, though.
  • Quincy Williams could have been flagged for a late hit as he was out of bounds when he knocked Dare Ogunbowale down with a shove. This wasn't a hard hit though so a no-call was probably correct.
  • Jonathan Greenard had a sack where he hit the quarterback low but he was falling forwards at the time.
  • Bryce Huff was blatantly held at least a couple of times each by Laremy Tunsil and George Fant.

Let us know what we missed - or misinterpreted - in the comments...